Skip to main content
Conferencing, Collaboration, Meetings

Enable and Disable Screen Share and Annotation for Participants

Annotation allows participants to write or draw messages in your Zoom meeting that will be visible to all if it is enabled. Screen Sharing allows participants to show the contents of their screen including the desktop, applications, videos they are playing, etc. By default, Screen Sharing is set to host only. This, along with disabling Annotation, are some of the most important settings to use in protecting your classes from Zoombombing. You can change these defaults for all your meetings in your Settings at zoom.byu.edu.

Screen sharing settings.  Who can share?  Host Only.  Disable desktop/screen share for users–Yes.  Annotation–No.


You can also change Screen Share within each meeting after it has begun to disable or enable it for individuals or all participants.


Follow these instructions to allow Screen Share for participants after you have started your meeting.

1. Next to Screen Share (move your mouse on your meeting window to see the control bar appear) click ^ >> Advanced Sharing Options...

Advanced SHaring Options...


2. On the pop-up screen, choose the settings you want for your meeting. In the 'Who can start sharing..' section, we strongly recommend keeping Only Host selected so that no one other than the host can unexpectedly share a screen.

Advanced Sharing Options – How many participants can share at the same time?  One.  Who can share?  All participants.  Who can start sharing when someone else is sharing? Only Host.